Quick Answer: What’S The Difference Between Muting And Blocking On Facebook?

What happens when you mute someone on Facebook?

Facebook Messenger allows users to mute individual conversations temporarily, or even indefinitely.

When a user mutes a conversation, they won’t be notified when they receive new messages.

The muted messages will have a Mute icon on them..

When you block someone on Facebook what do they see?

When you block somebody, they won’t just not be able to post on your timeline. They won’t be able to see anything you post on your timeline, tag you, send you an invite, try to friend you, or start a conversation with you.

When you mute someone on facebook can they see your posts?

Keep in mind that muting someone’s story is different from unfriending or unfollowing them. When you mute someone’s story, you will still remain friends with them, and you’ll still see their posts in your News Feed. Learn more about stories on Facebook.

Can a blocked person still see my posts on a mutual friend’s wall?

Neither you nor the person you blocked can tag each other to posts. Also, the blocked user will NOT see posts you published with a mutual friend tagged. If a mutual friend posts on your wall, the person you blocked will know that the mutual friend posted something.

How long does Facebook block last?

How long does Facebook lock your account? This block by Facebook is temporary and will last anywhere from a few hours to 24 hours to a few days but in most cases, it’s 96 hours.

Should I mute or block?

Simply put, muting someone on Twitter is like a more polite version of blocking them. Same like blocking, they will not be notified that you did it. You will clear your feed of their tweets and retweets and they will still see your retweets and tweets. They will also be able to follow you and send you direct messages.

Is mute the same as block?

When it comes to mute, your tweets will normally appear on their profile but you won’t see their tweets or retweets on your timeline (in case you follow them). Your timeline will be free of their tweets. In short, if you block someone, they cannot see your tweets but if you mute a user, they can still see your tweets.

Is muting better than Unfollowing?

Yes, you can unfollow/unfriend someone, but muting can be a better, more discreet alternative way to silence online “trolls” without having to block them.

What does muting a person do?

When you mute someone on Twitter, their tweets will stop showing up on your feed, but they won’t be notified that you’ve muted them. You can mute someone when you want to minimize your exposure to a certain person’s tweets but still keep a friendly relationship with the person.

Can you tell if someone mutes you on Facebook?

Open the application and set up a new “Home” column for the person you suspect has muted you. If you don’t appear in there then chances are that you’ve been muted. Fire off a quick tweet for confirmation.

Can someone see when you mute them on facebook?

You may be wondering, if you mute someone on Facebook Messenger will they know? No, they won’t. This is partly of the point of the Facebook feature. There is no alert or hack on Facebook to know exactly who has muted you.

Can someone tell when you block them?

How to know if someone blocked your number on Android. … If an Android user has blocked you, Lavelle says, “your text messages will go through as usual; they just won’t be delivered to the Android user.” It’s the same as an iPhone, but without the “delivered” notification (or lack thereof) to clue you in.

Add a comment